Internal Medicine General Information


Bicol Medical Center (BMC) started its operation as a small 25-bed provincial hospital in 1933. Facilities and equipment were scarce then, which led to its eventual closure in 1936. BMC transferred to its present location in 1936 after the Camarines Sur Provincial Government subsidized a private hospital owned by the late Dr. Arsenio Imperial.

In 1978, the hospital started having training programs under the strong leadership of Dr. Olivia Dumlao-Gaerlan. Through the efforts of Dr. Efren SJ. Nerva, its first chairman, the Internal Medicine Department, became the first training program in Bicol to be accredited by the Philippine College of Physicians (PCP) in 1988.

The program is under the Department of Health's direct supervision through the Bicol Medical Center Hospital Training Office for its organization and implementation; and the Philippine College of Physician for guidance in upgrading the methods of training. Initially, the residency-training program was set to 4 years due to the required one-year return service (dispersal program) as mandated by the Department of Health. Due to the abolition of the dispersal program in November 2009, the Bicol Medical Center adopted the 3-year medical residency training program of the PCP.

Currently, DOH is implementing Medical Residency Rotation Strategy (MRRS) and re-implementing its deployment of one (1) year after the three-year residency program.


A premier Department in Internal Medicine in training, research, and medical care in Bicol.


The Department of Internal Medicine, Bicol Medical Center, through its residency training program, aims to set the highest standards and ethical practice of Internal Medicine by:

  • Providing Continuing Medical Education to staff and resident-trainees
  • Providing technical and logistics support for research and publication
  • Providing a setting that fosters ethical, high-quality, and cost-effective medical service
  • Continually upgrading its services for the benefit of the patients


  1. To produce well-rounded, competent, and compassionate Internists.
  2. To produce and publish quality researches.
  3. To have a one hundred percent (100%) passing rate in PSBIM.
    Allergology and Immunology

    Pinoy-Villamayor, Kristy M., MD


    Barrion, Delfin C., MD
    Chavez, Karl Joseph C., MD
    Guazon, John Leo B., MD
    Gutierrez-Cayetano, Maribel T., MD
    Nerva, Efren SJ., MD


    Bongon, Joseph R., MD
    Paredes, Floranie R., MD


    Sacil, Nesmarie M., MD
    Sarmiento, Maria Lourdes C., MD


    Fernando, Rosemen F., MD


    Bombase, Millicent Grace S., MD
    Co-Soriano, Julius C., MD
    Manlagñit, Maria Crescenta M., MD
    Tolentino, Sancho P. Jr., MD


    Rada-Llenaresas, Clarin M., MD

    Garcia, Angelita T., MD
    Segarra, Ma. Jayme Laurice M., MD

    Infectious Disease

    Rañola, Jose Manuel T. III, MD

    Medical Oncology

    Rañola, Jose Manuel T. III, MD


    Barba, Kristin June P., MD
    Bonos, Josephine V., MD
    Ramos, Rizalina R., MD


    Cevallos, Rhoderick B., MD
    Perez, Joaquin S. III, MD

    Tropical Medicine Specialist

    Bobis, Myrna B., MD


    Delvo, Domingo B. Jr., MD
    Divinagracia, Charissa L., MD
    Dy, Ester Jean R., MD
    Dy, Tony T., MD
    Pornillos, Eloisa E., MD


    Pelo, Richard John B., MD


    Tolentino, Sancho P. Jr., MD


    Manlagñit, Maria Crescenta M., MD

    Third-Year Mid-Year

    Moreno, Gamaliel G., MD
    Ortiz, Roy Christopher C., MD
    Bigay, Donna Karen F., MD
    Efondo, Wenifredo O. Jr., MD
    Imperial, Cindy Ruth A., MD
    Panga, Ruth Elizabeth S., MD


    Barrameda, Maria Pulviea T.
    Cabalquinto, Marvin Casey A.
    Dy-Salvador, Edlyn A.
    Eda, Melchor G.
    Fernandez, Rowena S.
    Panday, John Peter O.
    Sorsona, Francis E.

    Second Year

    Abasolo, Juan Paolo P.
    Campo, Aldwin B.
    Encila, Prescious Angelie M.
    Gonzales, Estherly Grace M.
    Nobleza, Mary Joy C.
    San Pedro, Diana Marie T.
    Segui, Jedidiah N.
    Tanay, Arvie Z., MD

    Second Year Mid-Year

    Billones, Aileen R., MD
    Galan, Kristine Mae Z., MD
    Gomez, Jessa M., MD
    Tibi, Zenlin F., MD

    First Year

    Aquiler, Jessah S., MD
    Barreda, Ellen Keith C., MD
    Bombase, Marielle S., MD
    Clavillas, Christy Jane M., MD
    King, Maria Criselda D., MD
    Mirandilla, Loreth L., MD
    Sadia, Ayra C., MD
    Tabinas, Johne Cedric SJ., MD
    Taday, John Paul A., MD

    First Year Mid-Year

    Pasaradoza, Jean Kerstin S., MD
    Renion, Jamila Sherin R., MD


Department Secretary
6 th Floor New 8-Storey Building, BMC Road, Concepcion Pequeña, Naga City
(054) 472-6125 local 1304


Last update: December 15, 2020